Australia’s short film festival, St Kilda Film Festival last night awarded Director Dave Wade and Producer Alexandra BlueBest Short Film for Welcome to Iron Knob at the Closing Night Awards.

As St Kilda Film Festival is an ACADEMY AWARDS® qualifying event, Welcome to Iron Knob is now eligible for consideration in the OSCARS® Short Film Awards.

Held at the St Kilda Town Hall and proudly presented by the City of Port Phillip, 15 prestigious titles were awarded along with more than $40,000 worth of cash and prizes.

From an increasingly competitive field of entrants, Best Director was awarded to Victoria Thaine for The Kingdom of Doug and Best Actor taken out by Ed Oxenbould for his stellar performance in The Amber Amulet.

The 31st St Kilda Film Festival has now drawn to a close with Festival Director Paul Harris proud to provide the most comprehensive overview of the national short film industry.   

“The St Kilda Film Festival continues to live up to its reputation as Australia’s premier short film festival, recognising and awarding local filmmakers of all levels of experience.

“We were delighted to present a jam-packed 10-day program, featuring Australia’s Top 100 short films, music videos, archival screenings, youth programs, filmmaker development forums as well as an international showcase from Palm Springs International ShortFest,” said Mr Harris.


Best Short Film

Welcome to Iron Knob

Director: Dave Wade

Producer: Alexandra Blue

Craft Award

Emo (The Musical)

Director: Neil Triffett

Producer: Lee Matthews
Best Documentary


Director: Jilli Rose

Producer: Katrina Mazurek, Jilli Rose
Best Animation

The Gallant Captain

Director: Katrina Mathers, Graeme Base

Producer: Katrina Mathers, Merrin Jensen, Daryl Munton, Patrick Sarell

Best Comedy

Emo (The Musical)

Director: Neil Triffett

Producer: Lee Matthews

Best Director

Victoria Thaine – The Kingdom of Doug

Best Actor

Ed Oxenbould – The Amber Amulet 

Best Achievement in Cinematography

Maxx Corkindale – Welcome to Iron Knob
Best Achievement in Screenplay

Joel Russell & Marcus Hamill – Dog Save the Queen
Best Achievement in Production Design

Glenn Turner – Maiden

Best Original Score

Neil Triffett – Emo (The Musical)
Best Achievement in Sound Post-Production

Tony Vaccher and John Dennison – The Landing
Best Achievement in Visual Effects

Don Percy – Makeover

Best Achievement in Editing

Christian Barratt-Hill – The Amber Amulet


Best Achievement in Indigenous Filmmaking

Aboriginal Heart

Director: Michelle Blanchard

Producer: Tim Duncan

Best Youth Film

Where Do Lilacs Come From

Director: Matthew Thorne

Producer: Timothy Ward

SBS Television Award
The Kingdom of Doug

Director: Victoria Thaine

Producer: Naomi Mulholland

The St Kilda Film Festival will now embark on a regional tour of Victoria to present highlights of the Festival, helping audiences in remote locations access diverse screen culture.

About The Author

Heather Kipling

Heather hails from England with over 6 years of fashion retail experience in PR, events and digital marketing. As a typical tourist, Heather is embracing all things Melbourne from travel, events, music, food and fitness whilst slowly becoming addicted to the Melbourne cup of coffee. Doing two new things a week provides a perfect foundation for a festival loving, Lifestyle Editor in the cultural capital of Australia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.